Kibworth Grammar School Hall – May 2023

Kibworth Grammar School Hall AGM was held on the 12 April. This was a very well attended meeting and the trustees would like to say a big thank you to all who came along.

Kibworth Grammar School Hall

We were sorry to have to say goodbye to two long standing trustees who have decided not to stand for re-election, Joan Fillingham and Ed Burgess. Both have given a great deal of time to the hall over the years. Joan has been a previous chair and also acted as treasurer for a while. The trustees would like to thank them for all the time and effort they have given to the hall and we hope to still see them from time to time.

Martyn Wyburn was re-elected as chair, with Lynn Williams as vice chair and Geraldine Hulley as treasurer. The other trustees are; Pat Malpass and Andrew Dawes, with Caroline Abbott, Mandi Bland and David Brierley representing the parish councils of Harcourt, Beauchamp and Smeeton. The trustees are also grateful for Dave Birch agreeing to continue as minute secretary.

Martyn alluded to this being another difficult year for the hall, not least because of the higher utility costs that we have to pay. However, the hall is well used and regular bookings are not far off pre-covid levels. The trustees are also very grateful for the continued hard work of our paid staff; Kelly Knibbs, Alison Gibbins and Eric Wilde.

With the merger of the Kibworth Community Library and the hall coming ever closer, we have agreed to form a new incorporated charity, which will initially be made up of representatives of both organisations. Fundraising for phase one of the new build; a new structure on the side of the hall which will house the library is on-going.

These continue to be exciting times for both the hall and the library and we look forward to keeping the people of Kibworth and the surrounding area updated.

Martyn Wyburn
Chair KGSH